Hello, friends! Welcome back to livestream Yin Yoga if you’ve been here before. And, if you’re new, it’s great to have you here. This 75-minute class runs every Wednesday. We’re all in different time zones these days, so I’m laying it out for you below:

  • 5 – 6:15 pm EST
  • 4 – 5:15 pm CST
  • 3 – 4:15 pm MST ( That’s me 🙂 )
  • 2 – 3:15 pm PST

As a reminder, this class will remain free for frontline healthcare professionals and anyone who is currently unemployed or feeling financially insecure. For all others, this is donation-based, with suggested contribution of $5-$10, which you can make via Venmo to: @Daphne-Swancutt.

What You’ll Need

We’re all at home, and some of us have studio-like props and some of us don’t. While they are not required, I like and use props a lot to support the bones so the muscles can relax. Typically, we’re using a bolster, blanket, blocks and, less frequently, a strap or two. Good news is that there is plenty you have in your own home that you can use:

  • Instead of a yoga bolster: Stack and roll up a couple of blankets to create a bolster log, or you can use a couple of (or more) bed pillows.
  • Instead of yoga blocks: Find some thick books that you can stack. You might also use throw pillows in place of blocks.
  • Instead of a yoga strap: A long scarf or robe tie works great in place of a strap.

Be sure to dress comfortably and, when the weather is chilly, warmly. For me in my house, when I’m practicing close the ground, it gets cold!

Mat or no mat, either works. I’m often just practicing on carpet or a rug. If your floors are particularly hard, consider placing an extra blanket beneath your practice area.

Music

According to a survey I did about a year ago, close to 90 percent of students prefer music in a Yin Yoga class. I won’t play music on my end because the sound will end up being really distorted. But, I will share a Spotify playlist before class begins that you can play on a separate device. If you’re not using Spotify, feel free to set yourself up with your own playlist—keep it to something instrumental and subtle. Or, you can have no music at all. Silence speaks, right?

The Zoom Platform

I’m using Zoom Meetings, which means I’ll be able to see you and hear you if you want me to. You can always disable the option for me to see you and, once we get past the first couple of minutes of class, I’ll ask that you mute your audio. You’ll hear me, but I – and no one else – will hear you.

If you’re new to Zoom, it’s really easy on your end. Just click the link above prior to class beginning (I’ll open it up about 10 minutes before), and let the prompts carry you along. If you have questions, you can always shoot me an email: peace@daphneswancuttyoga.com or a message here.

If you want a weekly reminder to join this class, click here and put “Weekly Reminder” in the subject field. Or, you can simply click here to add it to your calendar.

That’s it! Looking forward to seeing you!